Home » United Kingdom » Teodora Totorean, Tiverton, Devon

Teodora Totorean, Tiverton, Devon

Who are you?

My name is Teodora Totorean and I am a Romanian woman living and working in the UK. I am self-employed, working from home as a freelance writer while trying to establish myself as an artist. I am also a Cultural Champion, occasionally going to schools in Devon, talking about Romanian culture through interactive presentations and other activities.

Where, when and why did you move abroad?

I came to the UK in 2005 in Woking, Surrey. Initially I came here as an au-pair to learn English and get a language certificate needed to continue my studies upon my return to Romania. I decided to stay after I met my future husband and got married in 2007.What challenges did you face during the move?

My first challenge was flying to the UK. I have never been abroad before and I never travelled by plane. I took my flight from Budapest, Hungary, on my own, so this was a bit challenging as I can’t speak Hungarian and my English was rather limited at the time. But by observing what other people did and remembering the instructions I had from the agency, I managed to safely arrive at destination in Gatwick airport where a member of the host family waited for me.

Another challenge was the language. Although I studied English at school for eight years, I found it difficult to have a coherent conversation without constantly thinking about my grammar and without interrupting the person and asking them to repeat or explain what she/he had said. Also, living with a family other than my own was quite challenging too. I felt a bit strange at the beginning and I didn’t know how to behave and what to talk about so I spent most of my time out of the house or in my room.


Get Our Best Articles Every Month!

Get our free moving abroad email course AND our top stories in your inbox every month


Unsubscribe any time. We respect your privacy - read our privacy policy.


After I got married, another challenge was understanding how the household management worked in terms of registering with different providers (gas, electricity, Internet, etc), paying the bills, cancelling contracts, etc.

How did you find somewhere to live?

I came as an au-pair so I stayed with a host family. As I came through an agency from Romania, everything was arranged prior to my arrival. Currently I live with my husband in a rented flat found through an estate agency in our town, Tiverton.

Are there many other expats in your area?

There are only a handful of Romanians in the town where I live, but there are a few Indian families as well as quite a few Polish and East European families. 35 km further away, there is a university with lots of international students and there are a few multicultural communities organizing various events like celebrations, festivals, reading clubs, and other meetings.

What is your relationship like with the locals?

Due to my career, I don’t really go out too much, but overall I can say that I have a good relationship with the locals. I interact with artists in my area and I am a member of a few local art societies so I take part in group art exhibitions in Devon. I also used to volunteer in the local museum for three years so I established a good relationship with other volunteers and museum lovers. As an artist, I have a good relationship with a few business owners who offered me a place to display my work for which I am extremely grateful.

What do you like about life where you are?

It is quiet and peaceful, people are very polite and I also like the area. It is a good town to live in because it is situated at equal distance from the seaside, big cities and national parks so I am never short of choices as to where to spend a nice day out. I also like there is an active art community organizing meetings, exhibitions, open studio events so there are art exhibitions everywhere all year round. As I enjoy nature, there are many places for walking in any season. There is also a theatre in the nearest city and lots of cinemas. I enjoy local festivals, craft fairs and folk live music. I also quite enjoy food and the diversity of choice, from traditional British food to Chinese and Indian specialities. And this might come as a surprise for some people but I like the British weather: not too cold in the winter and not too hot in the summer – perfect for my liking!

What do you dislike about your expat life?

There are two things that I dislike about my expat life. One is the fact that I don’t speak my native language and even though my English is quite good now, sometimes I still have problems having a spontaneous conversation (still thinking about my grammar all the time) and I am still struggling to understand humour, especially when I meet people for the first time. Another thing I dislike is how some people might perceive me.

Unfortunately Romanian people don’t have a good publicity abroad, especially now as starting from 1 January 2014 they will be free to move and work in the UK, thus generating a few negative press campaigns against Romanians. I also feel that as an expat, it wouldn’t be fair to have opinions about politics, government, local council, benefits and medical system, taxes, etc. I just do what I have to do as a resident without voicing my opinions, including about the potential Romanian influx in the UK from 2014.

What advice would you give to anyone following in your footsteps?

My advice would be: be open-minded, learn the language, don’t judge the culture you entered through your own culture, respect and embrace the differences, socialize with the locals as much as you can and find hobbies and interests you enjoy. No matter what your education level is, it is always a good idea to obtain an equivalent of your studies and qualifications from home. Career wise, don’t limit yourself just because you are not native or local; learn the language and then work towards your professional goals.

What are your plans for the future?

When I was in Romania I had a clear vision of what I wanted to achieve in life, mainly career oriented. As circumstances changed, I had to adapt to the new environment, system and culture. I am quite happy at the moment about where I am and all I want right now is to keep my independence as self-employed for as long as I can. If I decide to move back to Romania or anywhere else sometimes in the future, I can take the business with me. Apart from that, I just want to enjoy life, to visit other places here or abroad and who knows, maybe to buy a house in the UK at some point.


Latest Videos

In this short video, we dive into the significant health care updates and changes happening globally in 2024. From Germany's insurance cost adjustments to Cyprus's renewed COVID-19 precautions, we cover the essential news you need to know.  Germany's Health Insurance Update:  Starting in 2024, residents in Germany will see a slight increase in their health insurance costs, with a 0.1% rise to a maximum of 1.7%. This adjustment aims to expand coverage for medical care not currently included in statutory health insurance, such as select dental treatments, IVF, and early cancer screenings.  COVID-19 Measures Reintroduced in Cyprus:  With over 3000 new COVID-19 cases, Cyprus is stepping up its game by reintroducing health measures. Requirements now include proof of a negative COVID-19 test for entry into various facilities, emphasizing the importance of vaccination, especially for the elderly, to combat the evolving virus strains.  Free Health Trials in Trieste, Italy:  Trieste launches an initiative for free health screenings, including echocardiograms and blood tests, focusing on preventive care against non-communicable diseases. This move underscores the city's commitment to improving public health through early detection and prevention.  Spain's New Health Advice App:  Madrid introduces a groundbreaking app offering reliable health advice to counteract the widespread misinformation online. This app, part of the 'Madrid Te Cuida' initiative, will guide users to accurate information, from diet tips to medical queries, ensuring the advice is vetted by health professionals.  Expat Satisfaction with Healthcare in Mexico:  A study reveals that expat retirees in Mexico are largely content with the healthcare quality and costs, with many citing significant savings compared to the United States without compromising on care quality. This insight sheds light on the growing trend of healthcare tourism and relocation for medical reasons.  Stay tuned as we unpack these updates, providing you with the insights and implications of these healthcare changes. Whether it's the impact on your wallet or the quality of care you can expect, we've got you covered in this comprehensive overview of health care in 2024. Don't forget to like, share, and subscribe for more health news around the globe!

In this short video, we dive into the significant health care updates and changes happening globally in 2024. From Germany's insurance cost adjustments to Cyprus's renewed COVID-19 precautions, we cover the essential news you need to know.

Germany's Health Insurance Update:

Starting in 2024, residents in Germany will see a slight increase in their health insurance costs, with a 0.1% rise to a maximum of 1.7%. This adjustment aims to expand coverage for medical care not currently included in statutory health insurance, such as select dental treatments, IVF, and early cancer screenings.

COVID-19 Measures Reintroduced in Cyprus:

With over 3000 new COVID-19 cases, Cyprus is stepping up its game by reintroducing health measures. Requirements now include proof of a negative COVID-19 test for entry into various facilities, emphasizing the importance of vaccination, especially for the elderly, to combat the evolving virus strains.

Free Health Trials in Trieste, Italy:

Trieste launches an initiative for free health screenings, including echocardiograms and blood tests, focusing on preventive care against non-communicable diseases. This move underscores the city's commitment to improving public health through early detection and prevention.

Spain's New Health Advice App:

Madrid introduces a groundbreaking app offering reliable health advice to counteract the widespread misinformation online. This app, part of the 'Madrid Te Cuida' initiative, will guide users to accurate information, from diet tips to medical queries, ensuring the advice is vetted by health professionals.

Expat Satisfaction with Healthcare in Mexico:

A study reveals that expat retirees in Mexico are largely content with the healthcare quality and costs, with many citing significant savings compared to the United States without compromising on care quality. This insight sheds light on the growing trend of healthcare tourism and relocation for medical reasons.

Stay tuned as we unpack these updates, providing you with the insights and implications of these healthcare changes. Whether it's the impact on your wallet or the quality of care you can expect, we've got you covered in this comprehensive overview of health care in 2024. Don't forget to like, share, and subscribe for more health news around the globe!

YouTube Video UCB21b-C4O2aXm7H18_GsXMQ_nC_Fs6gU22U

Expat Focus International Healthcare Update January 2024

Expat Focus 31 January 2024 10:36 am

This error message is only visible to WordPress admins

Important: No API Key Entered.

Many features are not available without adding an API Key. Please go to the YouTube Feed settings page to add an API key after following these instructions.